Skip to product information
1 of 1

Light In The Attic

James Dallas - Life Forms

James Dallas - Life Forms

Regular price £34.00
Regular price Sale price £34.00
Sale Coming Soon
Tax included.

Life Forms (1982) was James Dallas debut album. Recorded at Mauer Brothers ’ Studio and completely self-funded with the help and encouragement of his peers and family. Dallas paid for all the recording time and the privately pressed 1000 copies of the album...back then he could not have imagined that decades later it would become a much sought-after collectible that fetches high prices. On Life Forms James Dallas is joined by a top cast of musicians such as Earl Thompson on percussion, Myron McClain and Noland Clark on drums, Rick Lacey and Robert Walls Jr. on guitar, Jake Simmons and Kevin Whitehead on bass. Kevin Whitehead (who is James ’ cousin and known for his work with Ben Webster, Ella Fitzgerald, Miles Davis, Sun Ra and Pharoah Sanders) also wrote a track for the album. The whole venture truly is a family affair because James ’ brother Christopher can also be heard on keyboards and the album design was handled by his other brother Calvin.

James Dallas surely deserves the title of ‘ multi-instrumentalist ’ because not only did he compose the majority of the songs (and produced the whole album) but next to his trademark soprano saxophone work, he also took care of playing the electric piano, flute, vocoder and keyboards. The six songs on the fantastic Life Forms album are a heavy mix of mind-blowing funk, fusion and Vocoder / Odyssey synth extravaganza. 

Tidal Waves Music (in collaboration with The Numero Group) now proudly presents the first ever vinyl reissue of this iconic Jazz-Funk-Soul fusion album (origin al copies tend to go for large amounts on the secondary market) originally released in 1982 as a private pressing and now finally back available as a limited 180g vinyl edition (limited to 500 copies) complete with the original artwork and obi

View full details