Skip to product information
1 of 1

Real Gone

Tank Girl (Original Soundtrack) - Various Artists

Tank Girl (Original Soundtrack) - Various Artists

Regular price £37.00
Regular price Sale price £37.00
Sale Coming Soon
Tax included.

It’s a tough call which is the bigger cult classic, the Tank Girl movie or its accompanying soundtrack, but on balance, we’d have to go for the soundtrack. Yeah, the film had a cast composed of some of the most colorful characters (Iggy Pop, Ann Magnuson) and character actors (Malcolm McDowell, Ice-T, and of course the almighty Lori Petty!) in show biz. 

And, its dystopic, resource-starved desert setting, intense action sequences, and lead female character mark it as a feminist (albeit funnier) precursor to Mad Max: Fury Road. But check out the soundtrack’s bona-fides: assembled by Courtney Love herself, it features a Who’s Who of ‘90s female rock including Hole, Björk, L7, Veruca Salt, and Belly among others.

Plus, it even has tracks that were exclusive to its release, like a unique version of Devo’s “Girl U Want,” “Mockingbird Girl” by The Magnificent Bastards (a side project of the late Scott Weiland of Stone Temple Pilots), and a duet of “Let’s Do It, Let’s Fall in Love” between Joan Jett and The Replacements’ Paul Westerberg.

In short, if there ever was a score that needs to be on wax, this would be it. We’ve done it right, too, with a gatefold jacket featuring the trademark comic book art and stills from the film, and a neon yellow vinyl pressing limited to 750 copies!

Side One
1. Ripper Sole—Stomp
2. Army of Me—Björk
3. Girl U Want—Devo
4. Mockingbird Girl—The Magnificent Bastards
5. Shove—L7
6. Drown Soda—Hole

Side Two
1. Bomb—Bush
2. Roads—Portishead
3. Let’s Do It—Joan Jett & Paul Westerberg
4. Thief—Belly
5. Aurora—Veruca Salt
6. Big Gun—Ice T

View full details